WorkFirst


helpGet help downloading files.

A job, a better job, a better life.

WorkFirst is Washington State's welfare reform program that helps people in low-income families find jobs, keep their jobs, find better jobs, and become self-sufficient.

WorkFirst Goals

WorkFirst has three main goals:

  • Reduce poverty by helping people to get and keep jobs
  • Sustain independence by helping people keep and improve jobs
  • Protect children and other vulnerable residents by providing for childcare and stopgap funding for emergency situations

What sets WorkFirst apart from other reform initiatives is the commitment to go beyond simply mandating participants to find work.

WorkFirst enables participants to gain the skills necessary for higher wages, better jobs, and further advancement. As this goal is achieved, savings from reduced caseloads have been reinvested in targeted supports that help participants be more employable and move up the wage ladder.

For WorkFirst student information at each provider, please refer to the WorkFirst Coordinators-Student Information Line listed below.

WorkFirst Delivery Agreements (WFDA)

2014-15

2013-14

2012-13

WorkFirst Tools

Additional Websites/Documents

eJAS Access

In order to access e-JAS, college representatives must complete and submit the Notice of Non-Disclosureword via fax to (360) 704-4418 or scan and email it to Deb Knackstedt, Program Manager.

e-JAS passwords resets, please contact Deb Knackstedt, Program Manager at (360) 704-4337.

For e-JAS technical assistance, please contact the e-JAS helpdesk at (360) 664-4560.

Program Reports

SBCTC Upload Engine (SUE)

SUE is a secure site for colleges to upload confidential information. In need of assistance, please contact Deb Knackstedt, Program Manager (360) 704-4337.

College staff may sign up for the SBCTC WorkFirst listserv to receive the latest program updates.

For more information about the WorkFirst program in general, contact Lindsay Lanham .

WorkFirst Coordinators

College Student WorkFirst Information Line WorkFirst Coodinator
Bates Technical College (253) 680-7290 Blake Ingram
(253) 680-7299
bingram@bates.ctc.edu
Bellevue College (425) 564-4180 Darlene Molsen
(425) 564-2033
darlene.molsen@bellevuecollege.edu

Bellingham Technical College (360) 715-8366 Jennifer Lewis
(360) 752-8461
jlewis@btc.ctc.edu
Big Bend Community College (509) 793-2052 Heidi Summers
(509) 793-2052
heidis@bigbend.edu
Centralia College (360) 736-9391 x 694 Margret Friedley
(360) 736-9391 x 351
mfriedley@centralia.edu
Clark College (360) 992-2321 Deena Godwin
(360) 992-2932
dgodwin@clark.edu
Clover Park Technical College (253) 589-5895 Cristeen Crouchet
(253) 589-5895
cristeen.crouchet@cptc.edu
Columbia Basin College (509) 547-0511 x 2719 Debra Wagar
(509) 547-0511
dwagar@columbiabasin.edu
Driver Training & Solutions, LLC   Jeff Benesch
(509) 623-4016
jbenesch@trans-system.com
Edmonds Community College (425) 640-1465 Jan Strand
(425) 640-1008
jstrand@edcc.edu
Everett Community College (425) 388-9547 Lynda Wolf
(425) 388-9551
lwolf@everettcc.edu
Grays Harbor College (360) 538-4058 Colleen Overton
(360) 538-4262
coverton@ghc.edu
Green River Community College (253) 833-9111 Ext. 2211 Tamar Zere
(253) 333-4943
tzere@greenriver.edu
Highline College (206) 878-3710 Ext. 3340 Deana Rader
(206) 878-3710 x 3004
drader@highline.edu
Lake Wa Institute of Technology (425) 739-8339 Demetra Biros
(425) 739-8315
demetra.biros@lwtech.edu
Literacy Source   Isabel Childs
(206) 782-2050
isabelc@literacy-source.org
Lower Columbia College (360) 442-2581 Stefanee Bunn
(360) 442-2542
sbunn@lowercolumbia.edu
North Seattle College (206) 527-7655 Dawn Kinder
(206) 934-3727
Dawn.Kinder@seattlecolleges.edu

NW Indian College   Tania Vega
(360) 392-4301
tvega@nwic.edu
Olympic College Bremerton
(360) 475-7230

Shelton
(360) 432-5423
Cathy Stinson
(360) 475-7847
cstinson@olympic.edu
Olympic College-Bremerton/Poulsbo   Patricia Carlin
(360) 475-7841
pcarlin@olympic.edu
Peninsula College (360) 417-6351 Laura Brogden
(360) 417-6351
lbrogden@pencol.edu
Pierce College-Ft Steilacoom (253) 964-6265 Susan Cable
(253) 964-6265
scable@pierce.ctc.edu
Renton Technical College (425) 235-7836 Sherrie Holmes
(425) 235-2352 x2033
sholmes@rtc.edu
Seattle Central College (206) 587-3854 Ali Scego
(206) 934-6309
ali.scego@seattlecolleges.edu
Seattle Vocational Institute (206) 587-4936 Rhashida Brown
(206) 934-2948
rhashida.brown@seattlecolleges.edu
Shoreline Community College (206) 546-6957 Fikru Diro
(206) 546-6957
fdiro@shoreline.edu
Skagit Valley College (360) 416-7855 Sinead Fitzpatrick Plagge
(360) 416-7869
sinead.fitzpatrick@skagit.edu
South Puget Sound Community College (360) 596-5401 Tonya Huffines
(360) 596-5401
thuffines@spscc.edu
South Seattle College (206) 764-5835 Keith Marler
(206) 934-6666
keith.marler@seattlecolleges.edu
Spokane Community College (509) 533-8210 Stacy Preder
(509) 533-8210
spreder@scc.spokane.edu
Spokane -IEL (509) 279-6203 Sarah Stiffler
sarah.stiffler@SCC.spokane.edu
Spokane District Office   Pam Russell-Elliott
(509) 533-8481
pam.russell-elliott@ccs.spokane.edu
Spokane Falls Community College (509) 533-3042 Linea Bruno
(509) 533-3307
linea.bruno@spokanefalls.edu
Tacoma Community College (253) 565-9610 Carroll Ferguson
(253) 566-5131
cferguson@tacomacc.edu
Tacoma Community House   Dana Boales
(253) 383-3951
dboales@tacomacommunityhouse.org
Walla Walla Community College (509) 527-4230 Debra Erikson
(509) 527-1865
debra.erikson@wwcc.edu
Wenatchee Valley College (509) 682-6790 Erika Wickenhagen
(509) 682-6964
ewickenhagen@wvc.edu
Whatcom Community College (360) 650-5354 Barbara Leveque
(360) 383-3183
bleveque@whatcom.ctc.edu
Yakima Valley Community College (509) 574-4630 Angela Anthony
(509) 574-4630
aanthony@yvcc.edu

Top of page

Page Manager: janderson@sbctc.edu
Page Reviewed/Updated: October 15, 2014, 12:55 PM

The Content box should not go past this line >>

WA State Board for Community and Technical Colleges  |  Open 8 AM - 5 PM, Mon-Fri  |  Phone: 360-704-4400  |  Fax: 360-704-4415

PO Box 42495  1300 Quince Street SE  Olympia, WA 98504-2495  |  Get Directions  |  Contact Web Master